The Department of Physics of Jorhat Engineering College is one of the oldest departments of the college. It came into existence in the year 1960, the very year this premier institute of engineering in the North-east was founded. The department  was established and developed under the leadership of Professor Hamidur Rahman. Professor Kamaleshwar Deka, Dr. Jatin Baruah, Professor Bhuban Chandra Bora, Professor Asish Choudhury were his colleagues and helping hands. In moulding the department, Mr. Girish Chandra Rajkhowa, the demonstrator has contributed immensely in developing and maintaining the high standards of the Physics Laboratory. Punaram Bora and Dulal Bora worked as bearers during the period. The subsequent heads of the department are Prof. Bhuban Bora, Dr. Gobinda Chandra Sarma, Dr. Arup Bordoloi, Dr. Sanjan Hazarika and Dr. Aditi Bezbaruah.

At Present the department has three experienced, dedicated regular faculty members, one demonstrator, one scientific assistant and two supporting staff. The department is equipped with a high standard laboratory having experimental set ups and up-to-date instruments/equipment.


The Department of Physics envisions and aims to build a foundation of excellence and push the development of the institute by igniting and nurturing enthusiasm, interest and passion in the study of physics in this professional course.


i)   To impart quality education in Physics required for building and strengthening a strong basic knowledge of all branches of engineering.

ii)  To create an atmosphere for learning physics and generating logical and innovative thinking for future physical application.

iii) To awaken the young minds and discover their talents both in theory and practical physics through dedicated teaching, commitment to students and innovative instructional methods.